We’re Lacing Up Our Dancing Shoes

The Liacouras Center was packed as the fans waited to learn what seed TU would get in the NCAA Tournament.

I think it’s safe to say that when nine of the top ten trends on Twitter are about college basketball, it’s officially March Madness.

After our catastrophic loss in the first round of the A-10 Tournament, our projected five seed in the Big Dance was in serious jeopardy. So as fans and friends gathered in the Fox Gittis Room of the Liacouras Center tonight for the CBS Selection Sunday Show, it was tense, anxious, and frenzied.

The players entered to a standing ovation and a community ready to watch these Owls go far. I’ve gone to the Selection Sunday party three years running now, and this was the craziest I’ve ever seen it. There’s a hope that these Owls can make a deep run, and they looked excited to do so. They seemed to have put the loss behind them and were laughing and joking, nervously awaiting the results of the bracketologists on the NCAA selection committee.

We watched as the West bracket was filled, then the South, then the East, and by then, we knew the we were in the Midwest regional. When it was announced that Temple had earned the 5th seed in the Midwest to play either Cal or South Florida, the room erupted, singing the Temple fight song.

So thus begins my favorite week of the year. The week where I anxiously await our game on Friday and spend the next few days filling out multiple brackets, and spend the next few days after that with a red Sharpie in hand, crossing out all the wins I got wrong. That’s the one thing I love about the brackets–being proven wrong. I can watch every college basketball game, all year long, and when it comes down to this next week or so, I’m going to get busted. I would have loved nothing more than to have majored in bracketology, and I know my stuff, but I would have been horrible at it. Because it’s one game at a time, and anyone can win on any given day. I only have one stipulation; I’m just praying the Owls can win it all.

So lace up your dancing shoes, Owls! We’re going to Nashville.

Leave a Reply

