Exploring Town

Rachel took a picture of her sister, Melissa, and Krista at Love Park.

Rachel’s sister, Melissa, and her friend, Krista, were in town this weekend to explore campus and the city of Philadelphia. Rachel planned an outing to take them into Center City for the day, so Jorge and I joined them.

We started by taking the subway to City Hall and walking through the Monopoly pieces in JFK Plaza. From there, we explored Rittenhouse Square, stopped at Philly Cupcake, and then walked to Reading Terminal Market, one of my favorite places. It’s a huge farmers’ market with vendors selling every food you could possibly imagine. With both the Phillies and Flyers playing that afternoon, I thought the place would be empty, but I was wrong. It was still packed with people. We stopped at Carmen’s, where Rachel and I got cheesteaks, Melissa and Krista got hoagies, and Jorge got a gyro.

We then walked to another of my favorite areas, Independence Mall. I’ve always been fascinated with the city’s colonial history, so Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, and the rest of the Mall were always a highlight. My mom worked on the Mall in one of the surrounding buildings, so going down there as a kid was always the best. We found a shaded bench to eat our lunch before walking back to City Hall.

A huge part of being a Temple student is using the city, constantly. Every week, I walk into town just to find a new path or explore somewhere new. It’s supposed to be exercise, but I always end up discovering somewhere awesome that I hadn’t seen before. The subway connects us right to the rest of the city, and to take advantage of that is a great perk.

It was awesome to see the look on Melissa and Krista’s faces as we showed them around a city they barely knew. Going into town was a great way to spend the afternoon, and I think they really enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

