Perpetually Packing

The “before:” this is what happens when you come home from college with two sets of everything and throw it in a corner, hoping nobody notices. Take it from me: they notice.

In eleven days, I move to Colorado. Eleven. And that’s a pretty daunting number in my mind. It means I have eleven days left to go to doctors appointments, pick up my new glasses, clean my room, go shopping, hang out with my family and my puppy, make the rounds to see the aunts and uncles and cousins and grandparents, and, oh yeah, pack.

My least favorite thing about any trip is packing. I’m one of those people who is perpetually planning for the next small emergency. And that means a lot of extra stuff. So yeah, even though it’s the summer, and I’m moving to a state where it’s sunny 300 days out of the year, I’ll fight my mom to bring my North Face for the one time I plan on hiking up Pikes Peak, where it’s supposedly freezing, even in July, because of the altitude. It makes packing a real pain in the butt. I keep laughing to myself because I’ve done this before. Last summer, I packed up enough stuff for three months and moved halfway around the world to England for a semester. And here I am, doing the same thing, just moving in the other direction, halfway across the country, and it seems harder.

This summer, I secured an internship with the United States Olympic Committee. I’ll be their Digital Media intern for the summer, and with the London Games coming up, I couldn’t have planned a better time to join the Olympic movement. It’s always been my dream to cover the Olympics, so this is an incredible opportunity to be a part of Team USA. The process was nerve-wracking, as it was entirely phone interviews, so I knew I’d have to convey myself with just my voice, which was terribly daunting to me. When I got the email saying I’d been chosen, I was stunned. I couldn’t believe I’d be moving to the Olympic Training Center.

Needless to say, it still hasn’t sunk in. But the fact that you can see the floor in my room for the first time in a long time, well, that’s a pretty big deal. And the fact that I now have some business clothes hanging in my dining room, waiting to be packed, well, that’s a pretty big deal. And the fact that there’s only eleven days until I fly across the country to spend my summer with the USOC during the London Games, well, that’s a pretty big deal.

Leave a Reply

