Barr-ing Any Mishaps…

My NikeRun app tracked my hike and showed us just how lost I really might have gotten on the Barr Trail.

So I was going to write a blog about my second time on Barr Trail. About how the day after hiking a fourteener, we decided to hike again. About how it was Connor’s first time on the Incline. About how I hiked Barr and how we met halfway and walked the rest of the trail down. About how awesome I felt doing two such hikes in two days.

But that’s not the story. That’s not what happened.

I went with a group of interns after work on Monday to the base of Pikes Peak, and when they went to do the Incline, I planned to do Barr Trail, the hike that leads to the summit of Pikes Peak. I’d done the descent on Barr once before, and I liked the trail a lot. That, and it’s a lot easier for me than the Incline. So I departed from the group and began my ascent, headphones in and ready to go.

After two and a half miles, I ran into all of the group except Connor, who were running down the trail after completing the Incline. On track, they said Connor wouldn’t be far behind, so I figured I’d get as much of a workout in as possible and keep going until I ran into him. After all, it is only one trail. A few minutes later, I got a phone call from Connor, who suggested I start heading down so that he could run down and meet me. So I did, and after a while, I hadn’t found him yet.

Not long after the realization that it was taking him a long time, I got another phone call, this time panicked and wondering where I was. Connor had already made it to the trailhead, and with limited cell service, had been calling multiple times to make sure I was okay and find out where I was. Then it dawned on me that I could really be lost. So I picked it up, scared, and started running down the mountain, tripping over rocks and twigs, racing to get back to the group.

Connor eventually found me about a half mile from the trailhead, alive and well, just as confused as I was about how we had missed each other. I was shaken up and more upset than anything that I’d worried them, and that they had to come back and find me, and confused as to how I possibly could have wandered off the Barr. We looked at the route Nike+ Running tracked me on last night, and still haven’t figured out quite where I went wrong; whether the GPS was slightly off or I really wandered off is left to your judgement, but next time I’ll be a lot more careful which paths I take.

As we stopped for Culver’s with Dom on the way home, Connor asked me to go pick up his custard when I went to go get mine. “Hey, don’t get lost on the way, okay?” he said after me, as I shot him a smirk and stifled a laugh. All was good, no harm done, and we laugh about it now, but I have a feeling I’m not going to live this one down for a long time, deservedly so. And I’m sure it’ll be a long time before I get up the courage to do the Barr again, either.

One thought on “Barr-ing Any Mishaps…

Leave a Reply

