The Games Have Begun

Our setup for the Games: dual screen computer to stream the Games 24/7 and our laptops to update the Team USA site.

There are a few things I’ve learned watching the first three days of the Games:

1. There aren’t enough hours in a day.

The Games are crazy. Like beyond crazy. I’ve always watched the Games. I’ve always stayed up late or woken up early to catch the action. But now that we’re responsible for updating the website, the social, the AP feed, and the Olympic landing section, it’s a non-stop gig.  Connor’s been working on Team USA’s Instagram account, garnering thousands of followers each day, now that the Games have started. One of his first posts from the Games, a controversial photo of Ryan Lochte’s American flag grill, made it to the popular page and subsequently, each photo from the Games has. We wake up early, we go to bed late, and morning, noon, and night, we’re watching the Games. It’s just how the Games are. And it’s awesome.

2. Time difference. Ugh.

I’ve lived in London, so I thought, “Hey. Time difference. I laugh in the face of time difference.” Except here’s what I’ve discovered. Seven hours from the Springs to the UK is a long, long time. So when you’re up for thirteen hours working, the last thing you’ll want to do is wake up at 2:30am to watch live coverage from London. So the replays on NBC Olympics, Twitter, and live-stream morning events have become my new best friend.

3. My 17-inch computer monitor just isn’t big enough.

When I first started college, I got a brand new HP laptop. At 17-inches, three years ago, it was the largest thing I’d ever seen. I thought of the ways I could possibly fill the ginormous screen. And then the 2012 Games hit. And 17-inches when you’re trying to split screen the back-end of Team USA’s website, the AP news feed, Twitter, and NBC’s live streams, doesn’t go very far. So our solution has been a great one. When we work from the office, I put my laptop next to my desktop and work on one while I stream on the other. Connor and I put two different events on, and yell results back and forth, jumping and cheering while we watch the big races together. Okay, I’m usually the one jumping and cheering. Fine. When we work from the OTC, we have a dual screen computer where we can bring up two different events at once, and then work on our laptops. It’s the perfect setup for such an involved, chaotic event.

4. I watch a lot of TV. But the amount of TV I watch during the Games is absurd.

Because I work in Digital Media, it’s a rare point in any day if I’m not on my laptop or my iPhone or staring at a television screen. But during the Games, that connectedness increases tenfold. 24/7, the Games are on. And I don’t think my eyes ever leave a screen, save for the small breaks we take to drive up to the dining hall to grab to-go boxes for dinner. It’s a lot, but we’re catching as much as we can, and we don’t have to sneak around, or skip class, or hide away to do it. It’s our job.

5. Eat. Sleep. Games. And sometimes all three at once.

After the first full day of competition, it had felt like seven already. And so after a 6am start at work, Connor, Dom, and I pushed through. Around 8pm, I had enough for the day, and decided to curl up in the empty office chair and watch the primetime coverage on NBC while the boys finished the last hour of their shift. According to them, within minutes, I was out cold, and when they flickered the lights, telling me it was time to wake up an hour later, I was more tired than I was before my little nap. The Games are exhausting, and you can’t get enough sleep. But it’s awesome to watch as much as we do, and be as involved as we are. It’s a sacrifice I’ll gladly make.

And the Games have only just begun. Needless to say, we’re the kings of Olympic trivia and results right now. Sure the rest of the country watches the Games in primetime or an event here or there on their computer. But us? It’s our job. And we’re in full-on Games-mode.

Leave a Reply

