Busy Days at the U

We only have two home games left at PPL Park this season, but it’s been a blast working for the U this semester.

Just because the Union were eliminated from the playoffs doesn’t mean we’re kicking up our feet in the front office. There’s still two huge games left to play, and it’s been busy and it’s been a blast.

Gamedays are definitely my favorite and while I have to arrive at the stadium five hours before kick–well before the players and coaches arrive–it never gets old watching a pro soccer team from the best seat in the house. I’ve facilitated the roster exchange between the teams, run stats, checked in the media, covered press conferences, and interviewed players and coaches. Plus, I get to see my cousin at every home game, which I love.

But gamedays are only a small fraction of my job. As the digital media intern, I’ve been tasked with creating the pregame emails that we send out to over 25,000 subscribers  as well as coding in HTML from scratch for our website. I shuffle back and forth between the communications, marketing, and digital media departments, but it keeps me on my toes to help out the club in various ways. We also have mobile marketing events that we attend all over the Delaware Valley. It’s awesome to be able to interact with our youth soccer clubs and see our grassroots initiatives with the fans. We also get to work tons of other events across all departments, including a viewing party we hosted this Wednesday at Kildare’s pub in Manayunk with our CEO, Nick Sakiewicz, and some of our non-traveling players, including Michael Farfan.

We play in Houston in a few weeks, after the international break, before returning back to PPL Park for the final game. Personally, I’m just really looking forward to that October 27th match against New York Red Bulls and seeing my favorite footballer of all time, Thierry Henry, take my home pitch. It’s going to be an incredible day. I hope he scores, but I still want the U to win! DOOP!

One thought on “Busy Days at the U

Leave a Reply

