Admissions Open House

The Owl Ambassadors and I huddled up at the Bell Tower in near-freezing temperatures, ready to give tour to our almost 7,000 visitors. At least the cold weather gave me a chance to show off my TU gloves!

It’s always an early morning the days of Admissions events. But when you get to work just after 6:30am, and see all your fellow tour guides, just as peppy and excited as you are, you know it’s going to be a great day.

With 7,000 visitors expected on campus for our first Open House of the year, we knew it was going to be a zoo, but I was so excited. These are the events I love so much. Giving tour all day long, telling corny jokes, meeting families, and telling people why I chose Temple University is one of my favorite things in the world. It puts a smile on my face like no other. And while I complained about the bitter cold, even then, I had Temple Ts on my gloves and a cherry and white parka. To say I love my job is an understatement.

The day started off when Rend, Ray, Rose, and I were tasked with transporting the hundreds of Tastykakes from the Welcome Center to the Liacouras Center. We set them up, and I snapped pictures to send to Connor and Dom of each of their favorite treats. We then set up the concourse, before Adrianne and I headed to the Bell Tower to greet families for tour.

I probably gave five tours today, and while they were abbreviated, loved each one. It’s so awesome to see people where I was four years ago. I didn’t even want to visit Temple, and my dad drug me down to North Philly for an Open House, totally unwillingly, and by the end of the day, I’d decided to apply.

There were people there that day that changed my mind. Now I’m one of those people changing minds. And I love it.

Leave a Reply

