Leadership Movie Night: Game Change

My absentee ballot finally arrived the night after our Diamond Leader movie night where we screened Game Change about Sarah Palin…now it’s decision time!

For our latest Diamond Leader movie night, we went a little rogue.

With the upcoming election, we decided that Game Change, the HBO movie about Sarah Palin’s vice-presidential campaign with nominee John McCain would be an appropriate choice. I’d never seen the movie, but was excited to see the political side of Sarah Palin.

Each month, the Office of Leadership Development hosts a free movie night for the student body, screening a film with leadership themes and a discussion afterwards. We use the Reel, Temple’s on-campus movie theater and provide the popcorn and drinks. We usually have a great turnout, and it’s a great way to spend a weeknight. Students earn ten Diamond Points for participating, and after earning fifty at our other events, workshops, and conferences, students can then apply to be Diamond Leaders, a group of the top forty student leaders on a campus of 27,000. I’ve been a DL for three years now, and it’s one of the best groups I’ve been a part of.

I really enjoyed Game Change.  I’d love to see how much of Palin’s personality behind-the-scenes was fictionalized and how much was the reality of the 2008 election, but it was certainly entertaining and gave a great look into the world of American politics.

Coincidentally, I received my absentee ballot in the mail the next day, and now it’s time to study up and make my big decision as an undecided voter. Game Change definitely helped me understand that I need to look at this race more critically, but I’m excited to cast my first vote for president very soon!

One thought on “Leadership Movie Night: Game Change

Leave a Reply

