Saturday Preview Day

I made sure to wear lots of cherry red...for the Owls and the Dawgs! And then Aleks and Rend stole my headband. I've known these two far too long.

I made sure to wear lots of cherry red…for the Owls and the Dawgs! And then Aleks and Rend stole my headband. I’ve known these two far too long.

I had difficulty sleeping Friday night. After one too many episodes of Friday Night Lights on ESPN Classic, my mind was still churning. In the morning, I would have to give a routine speech–one I’ve given a hundred times–except this time, it’d be to our 600 expected visitors for Saturday Preview Day. Holy cow. I’ve spoken in front of large crowds before, but not for Admissions, and not when I’m cracking jokes. And if you know me, cracking jokes is always a toss-up. And usually it ends in me laughing so hard I can’t get the joke out. Just ask my friends.

Saturday morning, I marched over to the Welcome Center, armed against the cold with my Temple gloves, and was greeted shortly after by fellow Owls Lili and Tom. “This is why I love this job!” Lili exclaimed, all smiles despite a slipped disk in her back. “Everyone is just so happy…even when we have to get up so early!” We might be Temple Tuff, but I’m pretty sure Lili deserves a Tour Guide Tuff award. Beth, one of our Admissions counselors, and I had a cheeky row, with our teams battling for the SEC Championship that afternoon. An avid Alabama fan, Beth was vehemently against my rooting for Connor’s Georgia Bulldogs. After renditions of both fight songs (an a T for Temple U thrown in for good measure), we walked over to the Student Center to prepare for our visitors.

At the Student Center, I gave my speech, and even garnered a few laughs at the expense of a terrible Eagles team this season. We then headed out on tour across campus. I had a great group and was so excited to see the smiles on their face as they got to see the school I love so much.

To end it all, we finished with a delicious lunch at J&H! It was a great morning to spend with all our prospective families!

One thought on “Saturday Preview Day

Leave a Reply

