Corn Hole at Urban Saloon

I've finally gotten the hang of corn hole...and not trying to softball pitch it anymore!

I think I’ve finally gotten the hang of corn hole…and not trying to softball pitch it way past the board anymore!

Last spring, I gave hockey a try with the tour guides. This semester, without my 5Ks in Colorado, interning for the U wasn’t enough, running in Fairmount wasn’t enough, and so I took up corn hole. And yes, I know exactly how that sounds, thank you.

In November, Sarah, a coworker of mine at the Union in the marketing department, mentioned that she was in a corn hole rec league at Urban Saloon, a bar down on Fairmount that I always run past and never noticed, and that her partner wasn’t going to be able to make it. She asked if I would fill in. I’m sure I had inadvertently scoffed a little bit at the notion that she was calling “bean bag toss” “corn hole,” and that such things as a corn hole rec league existed, but I found myself saying yes.

That Tuesday, I went, skeptically, but ended up having a great time. I was floored when I walked into the bar and was even given a jersey. After playing softball all my life, I found lobbing the ball a near-impossible task, and we lost. Badly. But I had laughed a lot and had a great time. I was shocked when Sarah asked me back the next week, and we’ve kept it up ever since.

Even after moving back to Bucks County, I still drive back into the city for our games (Games? Matches? What does one even call a corn hole competition?) each week. This Tuesday, playoffs start, and after garnering our first win last Tuesday, we’ve got high hopes! While Connor and Dom still laugh in disbelief each Tuesday that I actually joined a corn hole rec league, it’s so much fun. It’s such a great scene and everyone has a great time!

Leave a Reply

