In Like a Lion, Out Like a…Cavalier?

Way proud of these Wahoos! Connor stormed the court yesterday after his brother, Evan, and the Virginia Cavaliers upset Duke to usher in March.

Way proud of these Wahoos! @ConnorNolte stormed the court yesterday after his brother, Evan, and the Virginia Cavaliers upset Duke to usher in March.

March is known for its madness. But February? February this year was just as mad. And what a way it went out last night…

For the past month or so, I’ve been addicted to Joe Lunardi’s frequent tweets and the just-as-updated Bracketology homepage. I’ve got three teams on the bubble…and they haven’t moved without great, signature wins.

And I don’t have teams on the bubble. Ever. So I’ve been pacing. A lot.

You never know what Temple team’s gonna show up at each game this season, Nova’s been improving rapidly since a rocky start, and Virginia continues to surprise.

I’ll admit to having been a Big East fan my whole life. And I’ll admit after going to Temple, I became a huge A-10 supporter. But I’d never followed the ACC until this year. And I’ve become so impressed (and addicted,) I’ve not only followed all of Evan’s games, but those of his competition, too. And so if I counted how many college basketball games I’ve watched this year, the number would be utterly outrageous…

After Virginia lost in the last few seconds to #2-ranked Miami last week, everyone was ready for the home game against #3-ranked Duke. Connor flew up to Charlottesville and Dom and I were parked in front of the television, tuned to ESPN, ready. The Cavaliers charged out of the gate, keeping Mason Plumlee out of the paint, and forcing Seth Curry to throw up airball threes. They held off every comeback the Blue Devils tried to make, and Duke never led.

Dom and I refused to say the Dukies were on the U-word–upset–alert for fear we’d jinx Evan, but we freaked out when Evan sunk the last two free throws to cement the win and the Cavaliers stormed the court. If you’ve watched Virginia as much as the three of us have, the upset wasn’t surprising, just really, really exciting. And I think the best part (besides finally getting one of my teams off the bubble!) was getting crazy, chaotic videos of the storm from Connor, who was right thick in the middle of the pile! It was one of the best games I’ve seen all season and these Hoos deserved it!

There are some people who thrive on the Dance itself (ahem, looking at you, Dom!), but this season’s been so dramatic and unpredictable  it’s felt like March since December. And the stakes only heighten starting today, with writing down the word “March” in today’s date.

I’ve been ready for months; let the Madness begin!

2 thoughts on “In Like a Lion, Out Like a…Cavalier?

Leave a Reply

