Road Trip to Georgia

Mom and Wallace, all buckled up and ready to hit the road to Georgia.

Mom and Wallace, all buckled up and ready to hit the road to Georgia.

827 miles from Philadelphia to Atlanta. 827 miles with my mom and sister through Pennsylvania, Delaware, Maryland, D.C., Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Georgia. 827 miles from Philadelphia to Atlanta.

I’ve made a lot of road trips in my life. While growing up in Houston, Texas, we’d drive back and forth to Philadelphia. I don’t remember most of the trips, but the ones I do were always chock full of visiting new cities and new places. But this one would be a little different.

After accepting a position with NCAA.com and Turner Sports in mid-June, the time had finally come to pack up and move to Atlanta. My mom, sister, and I loaded all my belongings into two cars and left Bucks County for the South.

As we started down 95, it was almost a farewell tour of my hometown, Philadelphia. We passed Temple, the stadiums, PPL Park…and eventually, and perhaps saddest of all, the land of hoagies and the last Wawa. We stopped in Virginia for the night after four hours on the road, and then drove another ten the next day, all the way to Georgia.

Once there, we were able to move into my apartment and then spend Sunday walking around midtown Atlanta. We were able to see the Georgia Dome, Phillips Arena, Centennial Olympic Park, and CNN Center, where I was to report on my first day of work.

It was so much fun to make the drive with my family and I was so thankful to have them help me move in. It was definitely a road trip full of laughs, Man vs. Food episodes, and missed Big Brother episodes, but I wouldn’t have traded it for anything!

One thought on “Road Trip to Georgia

Leave a Reply

