Atlanta Falcons at the Georgia Dome

It might have been the wrong Birds playing, but there's something special about football in the Georgia Dome.

It might have been the wrong Birds playing, but there’s something special about football in the Georgia Dome.

There were two schedules I had to check before moving to Atlanta: the Phillies and the Eagles. And with Phillies tickets secured, and the Birds skipping a trip to the Dirty South this year, a Falcons game would be the next best thing.

After seeing a tweet that the Falcons were giving away free pairs of tickets to the first preseason game of the season against the Cincinnati Bengals, I immediately put in for the tickets, knowing it would be my first week in Georgia. To my surprise, I found two tickets to the game in my mailbox the day I moved into my apartment.

Eric and Andrew, the two other interns in the editorial department at NCAA.com, decided they wanted to go, as well, so the three of us made our way down to CNN Center after work for a quick bite to eat before the game.

After watching the SEC Championship game between Georgia and Alabama last season and the 30 for 30 documentary ESPN did on the legendary venue, I was extremely excited for my first trip to the Georgia Dome. There was no bad seat in the house, and while the Dome might only have been half full, it was easy to imagine how loud it would usually get.

I was especially proud when we even got in an E-A-G-L-E-S…EAGLES! chant in for good measure!

Though it wasn’t quite as exciting as seeing Peyton Manning’s first game in Denver last NFL preseason, it was still great to see the NFC-runner-ups, and was definitely a great introduction to Georgia!

One thought on “Atlanta Falcons at the Georgia Dome

Leave a Reply

