Piedmont Park

Easily one of the most beautiful views in Atlanta is from the banks of Lake Clara Meer in Piedmont Park.

Easily one of the most beautiful views in Atlanta is from the banks of Lake Clara Meer in Piedmont Park.

I’ve always loved living in the city. But I’ve always loved the tiny oases, hidden away, that make you forget you’re actually among the skyscrapers and noise.

I’ve run a ton of 5Ks in the past year, but with more free mornings on my hands, I’m determined to keep my pace and run even farther. Sometimes the best escape is going for a nice run.

Piedmont Park has become my go-to spot in Atlanta to do just that. Last week, I wandered from Turner’s campus in Midtown to Piedmont Park and did seven miles around beautiful Lake Clara Meer, the Active Oval, and the outskirts of the park.

The clear, still lake quickly wormed their way into my heart and instantly became one of my favorite parts of Atlanta. As a rocking chair connoisseur, I’m so excited to spend hours lounging on the rocking swings on the banks of the lake and wandering around the park’s endless paths.

Three days later, Danielle, one of the other NCAA.com interns, asked me to babysit her puppy, Optimus. With gorgeous weather, Optimus and I ventured the few blocks from Danielle’s apartment to the park. He wasn’t the best running partner, but he managed five miles…with lots of breaks to roll around in the grass and chase ducks!

Going out for runs has been a great way to explore Atlanta…and Piedmont Park’s definitely at the top of my list so far!

Leave a Reply

