Kennesaw Mountain

One of the cannons from Sherman's army at the Battle of Kennesaw at the summit of Little Kennesaw Mountain.

One of the cannons from Sherman’s army at the Battle of Kennesaw at the summit of Little Kennesaw Mountain.

Atlanta’s commonly divided into two parts, ITP and OTP. Inside the perimeter and outside the perimeter. And while living ITP and immersing myself in my work, you sometimes forget that there’s a whole city out there to explore. With a crazy redesign in progress and lots of long days at work, I decided to take advantage of a day off and head out past Marietta to Kennesaw Mountain National Battlefield Park.

I made the 40min drive out to Kennesaw and drove around trying to find the entrance to the park, only to find cars parked along the road and outside the locked gate. There was one thing I hadn’t accounted for: the government shutdown. I knew there was a shutdown, but it hadn’t affected me, personally. Caught up in the world of college football and NCAA.com redesign, it hadn’t crossed my mind that the place I’d wanted to hike at would be shut down.

I parked my car along the side of the road like everyone else and headed up the open trail. It was peaceful, and exceptionally quiet, even for a Monday. With just my camera and backpack for company, it was exactly what I needed. I didn’t know much about the battle fought on the land, but learned on my hike that over 5,000 soldiers were killed when General Sherman led his Union soldiers against Johnston’s Confederate army.

In need of a long hike to clear my head, I chose the steady 10 mile trail that summits both Little Kennesaw and Kennesaw Mountains, both of which provided stunning views of the North Georgia landscape and the city of Atlanta from a distance. Hiking is one of my favorite things to do, and while Georgia may not be known for its mountains, it definitely wasn’t too shabby a trail…and thankfully, very few switchbacks, Mom! There are quite a few more hikes I’d like to take this fall, but Kennesaw definitely set the standard high.

One thought on “Kennesaw Mountain

Leave a Reply

